Pachinko
(Book Club Kit)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(5)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Format:
Book Club Kit
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
490 pages ; 24 cm.
Status:
1 copy, 1 person is on the wait list.
Description

"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--

In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
TELL WPL Book Club
BOOK CLUB KIT
On Hold Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Language:
English

Notes

Description
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.
Local note
Wilkinson Public Library's kit of 10 books and check out as one unit to book clubs.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Lee, M. J. (2017). Pachinko. First edition. New York: Grand Central Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Lee, Min Jin. 2017. Pachinko. New York: Grand Central Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Lee, Min Jin, Pachinko. New York: Grand Central Publishing, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Lee, Min Jin. Pachinko. First edition. New York: Grand Central Publishing, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
cdfe0fad-19a6-52bb-fa14-ed0d21ef8e09
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Feb 22, 2019 02:55:06 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Feb 22, 2019 01:09:37 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03719cam a2200481 i 4500
008160624t20172017nyu           000 1 eng  
1001 |a Lee, Min Jin, |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2006086697 |e author.
24510 |a Pachinko: |h [book club kit] / |c Min Jin Lee.
250 |a First edition.
264 1 |a New York : |b Grand Central Publishing, |c 2017.
264 4 |c ©2017.
300 |a 490 pages ; |c 24 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"-- |c Provided by publisher.
520 |a In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.
590 |a Wilkinson Public Library's kit of 10 books and check out as one unit to book clubs.
650 0 |a Families |z Korea |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2009124079 |v Fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001562.
650 7 |a FICTION |x Literary. |2 bisacsh.
650 7 |a FICTION |x Cultural Heritage. |2 bisacsh.
650 7 |a FICTION |x Family Life. |2 bisacsh.
650 7 |a FICTION |x Historical. |2 bisacsh.
650 7 |a Families. |2 fast |0 (OCoLC)fst01728849.
651 7 |a Korea. |2 fast |0 (OCoLC)fst01206434.
650 0 |a Koreans |z Japan |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008106360 |v Fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001562.
655 7 |a Novels. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2015026020.
650 0 |a Asian Americans. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85008644.
655 7 |a Sagas. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026522.
650 0 |a Cultural property. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh97000183.
650 0 |a Families |v Fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008103507.
650 4 |a Historical.
655 7 |a Domestic fiction. |2 fast |0 (OCoLC)fst01726589.
655 7 |a Fiction. |2 fast |0 (OCoLC)fst01423787.
655 7 |a Domestic fiction. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026295.
655 7 |a Historical fiction. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026370.
655 7 |a Fiction. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026339.
690 |a Book Club Kits |z Wilkinson Public Library.
907 |a .b57558553 |b multi |c - |d 180510 |e 190220
998 |a tl |a tlw |b 180326 |c m |d o |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 0
948 |a MARCIVE Q2, 2018
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.08
989 |a BOOK CLUB KIT |d tlwor |b 1230003192324 |e 01-25-2019 9:23 |f  - - |g ! |h 8 |i 6 |j 3 |k 180510 |l $100.00 |m  |n 02-19-2019 11:42 |o p |p 291 |q 291 |t 1 |x 7 |1 .i119273330