The library will is open from 9:30-5:30. Maximum of 12 patrons at once, first come first served. Curbside service will be available daily from 9:30-5:30. Call or text 970-729-8129. Get more info at our website www.telluridelibrary.org.   

La biblioteca está abierta. El horario de la biblioteca para recibir 12 usuarios por orden de llegada será 9:30AM a 5:30PM. El servicio de recogida en la acera estará disponible a diario entre las horas 9:30 a.m. y 5:30 p.m. Contáctenos por llamado o texto al 970-729-8129. Para más información, visite nuestra página de web www.telluridelibrary.org

The glass castle: a memoir
(Book Club Kit)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(17)
4 star
 
(5)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Scribner, 2006.
Format:
Book Club Kit
Edition:
1st Scribner trade pbk. ed.
Physical Desc:
288 pages, 11 unnumbered page : portraits ; 21 cm
Status:
TELL WPL Book Club
BOOK CLUB KIT NONFICTION
Description

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
TELL WPL Book Club
BOOK CLUB KIT NONFICTION
On Shelf
Jan 11, 2021
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.9, 12 Points
Lexile measure:
1010

Notes

General Note
Includes a preview of the author's book : Half broke horses.
Description
In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
Local note
Wilkinson Public Library's kit of 10 books checks out as one unit to book clubs.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Walls, J. (2006). The glass castle: a memoir. 1st Scribner trade pbk. ed. New York: Scribner.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Walls, Jeannette. 2006. The Glass Castle: A Memoir. New York: Scribner.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Walls, Jeannette, The Glass Castle: A Memoir. New York: Scribner, 2006.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Walls, Jeannette. The Glass Castle: A Memoir. 1st Scribner trade pbk. ed. New York: Scribner, 2006.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
45857c25-9479-4093-cab9-51609411d7ed
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeFeb 13, 2021 12:44:13 PM
Last File Modification TimeFeb 13, 2021 12:44:40 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeFeb 25, 2021 11:11:54 PM

MARC Record

LEADER04537cam a2200625Ia 4500
008140609s        nyu           000 0 eng d
1001 |a Walls, Jeannette.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n99261088
60010|a Walls, Jeannette.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n99261088
650 0|a Children of alcoholics|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85023540|z United States|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n78095330|v Biography.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001237
650 0|a Children of alcoholics|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85023540|z West Virginia|z Welch|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n82036424|v Biography.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001237
650 0|a Dysfunctional families|z United States|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008110067|v Case studies.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001484
650 0|a Dysfunctional families|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85107107|z West Virginia|z Welch|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n82036424|v Case studies.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001484
650 0|a Poor|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85104834|z West Virginia|z Welch|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n82036424|v Biography.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001237
650 0|a Homeless persons|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85061718|x Family relationships|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99005369|z New York (State)|z New York.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79007751
650 0|a Homeless persons|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85061718|x Family relationships|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99005369|z New York (State)|z New York|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79007751|v Juvenile literature.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001674
650 2|a Alcoholics.|0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D057229
651 2|a West Virginia.|0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D014903
655 2|a Autobiography.|0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D020493
650 2|a Child of Impaired Parents.|0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D016241
650 2|a Family Relations.|0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D005195
650 2|a Homeless Persons.|0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D006703
650 2|a Poverty.|0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D011203
655 7|a Biographies.|2 lcgft|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026049
655 7|a Case studies.|2 lcgft|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2017026140
655 7|a Literature.|2 lcgft|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026415
250 |a 1st Scribner trade pbk. ed.
08204|a 362.82092|a B|2 22
092 |a MEM|b 362.82, WAL
096 |a WS 105.5.F2|b W215 2006
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.06
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.03
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.03
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.10
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.10
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.08
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2016
500 |a Includes a preview of the author's book : Half broke horses.
520 |a In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
264 1|a New York :|b Scribner,|c 2006.
300 |a 288 pages, 11 unnumbered page :|b portraits ;|c 21 cm
385 |n age|a Children|2 lcdgt
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
24514|a The glass castle|h book club kit:|b a memoir /|c Jeannette Walls.
590 |a Wilkinson Public Library's kit of 10 books checks out as one unit to book clubs.
690 |a Book Club Kits|z Wilkinson Public Library.
948 |a MARCIVE Comp, 2018.05
948 |a MARCIVE Comp, 2018.03
948 |a MARCIVE Comp, 2017.10
948 |a MARCIVE August, 2017
948 |a MARCIVE extract Aug 5, 2017
998 |e -|f eng|a tl|a tlw
907 |a .b42318002
989 |1 .i57359076|b 1230000701244|d tlwor|g -|m |h 25|x 2|t 0|i 8|j 3|k 100522|n 01-11-2021 16:23|o p|a BOOK CLUB KIT NONFICTION