The glass castle a memoir
(Book Club Kit)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(13)
4 star
 
(4)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Scribner, 2006.
Format:
Book Club Kit
Edition:
1st Scribner trade pbk. ed.
Physical Desc:
288 pages, 11 unnumbered page : portraits ; 21 cm.
Status:
1 copy, 1 person is on the wait list.
Description

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
TELL WPL Book Club
BOOK CLUB KIT
In Transit
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
1010

Notes

General Note
Includes a preview of the author's book : Half broke horses.
Description
In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
Local note
Wilkinson Public Library's kit of 10 books checks out as one unit to book clubs.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Walls, J. (2006). The glass castle: a memoir. 1st Scribner trade pbk. ed. New York: Scribner.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Walls, Jeannette. 2006. The Glass Castle: A Memoir. New York: Scribner.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Walls, Jeannette, The Glass Castle: A Memoir. New York: Scribner, 2006.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Walls, Jeannette. The Glass Castle: A Memoir. 1st Scribner trade pbk. ed. New York: Scribner, 2006.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
bada8c9c-2fca-dfe1-b7eb-ceed91dae05e
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Feb 21, 2019 02:34:41 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Feb 22, 2019 01:09:37 AM

MARC Record

LEADER04668cam a2200625Ia 4500
008140609s        nyu           000 0 eng d
08204 |a 362.82092 |a B |2 22
092 |a MEM |b 362.82, WAL
096 |a WS 105.5.F2 |b W215 2006
1001 |a Walls, Jeannette. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n99261088.
24514 |a The glass castle |h book club kit: |b a memoir / |c Jeannette Walls.
250 |a 1st Scribner trade pbk. ed.
264 1 |a New York : |b Scribner, |c 2006.
300 |a 288 pages, 11 unnumbered page : |b portraits ; |c 21 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
385 |n age |a Children |2 lcdgt.
500 |a Includes a preview of the author's book : Half broke horses.
520 |a In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
590 |a Wilkinson Public Library's kit of 10 books checks out as one unit to book clubs.
60010 |a Walls, Jeannette. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n99261088.
650 0 |a Children of alcoholics |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85023540 |z United States |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n78095330 |v Biography. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001237.
650 0 |a Children of alcoholics |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85023540 |z West Virginia |z Welch |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n82036424 |v Biography. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001237.
650 0 |a Dysfunctional families |z United States |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008110067 |v Case studies. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001484.
650 0 |a Dysfunctional families |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85107107 |z West Virginia |z Welch |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n82036424 |v Case studies. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001484.
650 0 |a Poor |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85104834 |z West Virginia |z Welch |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n82036424 |v Biography. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001237.
650 0 |a Homeless persons |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85061718 |x Family relationships |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99005369 |z New York (State) |z New York. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79007751.
650 0 |a Homeless persons |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85061718 |x Family relationships |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99005369 |z New York (State) |z New York |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79007751 |v Juvenile literature. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001674.
650 2 |a Alcoholics. |0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D057229.
651 2 |a West Virginia. |0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D014903.
655 2 |a Autobiography. |0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D020493.
650 2 |a Child of Impaired Parents. |0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D016241.
650 2 |a Family Relations. |0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D005195.
650 2 |a Homeless Persons. |0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D006703.
650 2 |a Poverty. |0 https://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D011203.
655 7 |a Biographies. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026049.
655 7 |a Case studies. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2017026140.
655 7 |a Literature. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026415.
690 |a Book Club Kits |z Wilkinson Public Library.
907 |a .b42318002 |b multi |c - |d 140609 |e 190220
998 |a tl |a tlw |b 140522 |c m |d o |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 4 |i 0
948 |a MARCIVE Comp, May 22, 2018
948 |a MARCIVE Comp, Mar. 1, 2018
948 |a MARCIVE Comp, Oct. 2017
948 |a MARCIVE August, 2017
948 |a MARCIVE extract Aug 5, 2017
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.06
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.03
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.03
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.10
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.10
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.08
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2016
989 |a BOOK CLUB KIT |d tlwor |b 1230000701244 |e 01-24-2018 13:56 |f  - - |g t |h 21 |i 5 |j 3 |k 100522 |l $0.00 |m  |n 03-29-2018 13:55 |o p |p 901 |q 901 |t 0 |x 1 |1 .i57359076