The crazy makers: how the food industry is destroying our brains and harming our children

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Jeremy P. Tarcher/Putnam,
Pub. Date:
2000.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Silent Spring, The Crazy Makers is an indictment of American food processors and what they are serving the nation. Are they distributing food, or manufacturing products that redefine what we think food to be? How far afield of true food has the search for profit and the need to meet consumer trends led food manufacturers? Nutritionist Carol Simontacchi shows how the pseudo-foods being promoted today--from infant formulas to health-conscious prepackaged meals--are, in fact, physically eroding our brains. While it has been proven that food choices contribute to degenerative diseases like cancer, diabetes, and heart disease, Simontacchi maintains that our mental condition is also at risk. Examining the relationship of diet to changing levels of chemicals in the brain, Simontacchi finds that: * consumer baby-formulas and baby foods can be harmful to an infant's brain development; * ingredients and residues such as MSG and neurotoxins are present in our children's food, hidden by misleading labels; * stripping essential minerals from the foods being served to teenagers can be linked to anorexia nervosa, bulimia, poor cognition and behavior; and * schools that strike deals with fast-food companies are among the worst saboteurs of a child's healthy diet and mind.Based on new research, information retrieved via the Freedom of Information Act, and a formal study conducted by Simontacchi of schoolchildren's eating habits, The Crazy Makers identifies how the new "foods" may be driving us crazy. Notes. Index.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781585420353
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDaeb9146a-219a-f57a-e996-4f0323b194be
Grouping Titlecrazy makers how the food industry is destroying our brains and harming our children
Grouping Authorsimontacchi carol n
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-08-15 01:04:28AM
Last Indexed2019-10-19 01:50:53AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSimontacchi, Carol N.
author_displaySimontacchi, Carol N
available_at_wilkinsonTelluride Wilkinson Library
detailed_location_wilkinsonTELL WPL Adult NonFiction
display_description
format_category_wilkinsonBooks
format_wilkinsonBook
idaeb9146a-219a-f57a-e996-4f0323b194be
isbn9781585420353
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b11351123.i11387932TELL WPL Adult NonFiction615.954 SIM1falsefalseOn Shelftlwnf
itype_wilkinsonAdult non-fiction
last_indexed2019-10-19T07:50:53.484Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_wilkinson615.954 SIM
owning_library_wilkinsonTelluride
owning_location_wilkinsonTelluride Wilkinson Library
primary_isbn9781585420353
publishDate2000
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b11351123BookBooksEnglishJeremy P. Tarcher/Putnam, 2000.300 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_wilkinson
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b11351123.i11387932On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue26, 27, 28, 29, 30
subject_facetFood additives -- Toxicology
Neurotoxicology
title_displayThe crazy makers : how the food industry is destroying our brains and harming our children
title_fullThe crazy makers : how the food industry is destroying our brains and harming our children / Carol Simontacchi
title_shortThe crazy makers
title_subhow the food industry is destroying our brains and harming our children
topic_facetFood additives
Neurotoxicology
Toxicology