The Avignon quintet

Book Cover
Average Rating
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
From the visionary author of the Alexandria Quartet comes a landmark five-part series hailed by the Sunday Times as "one of the great novels of our time." One of the most celebrated English writers ever, Lawrence Durrell was a bestselling author whose vivid metafictions pushed the boundaries of modern literature. The cosmopolitan provocateur transcended borders, ideologies, and time in his work, and he's at the height of his powers in the Avignon Quintet. More formally daring than the Alexandria Quartet, these sweeping and stylish novels set before, during, and after World War II loosely center on the race to uncover a treasure buried by the Knights Templar. Each reveals a seemingly disparate piece of the puzzle. In Monsieur , it's the bittersweet return to southern France by a British doct∨ in Livia , it's two sisters driven apart by the rise of Nazism in Europe. In Constance , a Freudian analyst struggles for clarity in a world on fire; in Sebastian , she reconnects with the charismatic cult leader she knew in the deserts of Egypt. And in Quinx , long-buried plots reemerge as the past and future are funneled into the present. Durrell himself described the Avignon Quintet as a "quincunx," a series of novels "roped together like climbers on a rockface, but all independent." Together they form a powerful meditation on the search for meaning in a world of chaos and brutality.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4714f480-7931-0f18-22b3-06e3152f798e
Grouping Title avignon quintet
Grouping Author durrell lawrence
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-01-01 01:10:20AM
Last Indexed 2019-02-19 04:11:16AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Durrell, Lawrence.
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Durrell, Lawrence
available_at_wilkinson Telluride Wilkinson Library
detailed_location_wilkinson TELL WPL Adult Fiction
display_description The complete Avignon Quintet. Published between 1974 and1985, the five books that make up the Avignon Quintet are another monumental achievement by one of the most inventive and acclaimed novelists of the twentieth century. Beginning in the years leading up to the Second World War and ending in the years just after it, the characters of Durrell's timeless series travel from France to Egypt to England to Switzerland, encountering irrepressible political and spiritual forces that sweep their lives toward an enthralling and unexpected conclusion. Masterfully written and richly layered, the Avignon Quintet is an unforgettable work of fiction, and a powerful ode to the search for meaning amid life's most tumultuous moments.
format_category_wilkinson Books, eBook
format_wilkinson Book, eBook
id 4714f480-7931-0f18-22b3-06e3152f798e
isbn 9780571163090, 9780571163281, 9781453262108
item_details hoopla:MWT11561740||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||||Available Online||||, ils:.b11104624|.i11400626|TELL WPL Adult Fiction|FIC DURRELL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||tlwf||
itype_wilkinson , Adult fiction
last_indexed 2019-02-19T11:11:16.262Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_wilkinson FIC DURRELL
owning_library_wilkinson Telluride
owning_location_wilkinson Telluride Wilkinson Library
primary_isbn 9780571163281
publishDate 1992, 2012
record_details hoopla:MWT11561740|eBook|eBook||English|Open Road Media,|2012.|1 online resource, ils:.b11104624|Book|Books||English|Faber,|1992.|1367 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b11104624 .i11400626 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 26, 27, 28, 29, 30
hoopla:MWT11561740 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Electronic books, Europe -- Fiction, Fiction, World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
title_display The Avignon quintet
title_full The Avignon quintet / Lawrence Durrell, The Avignon quintet [electronic resource] / Lawrence Durrell
title_short The Avignon quintet
topic_facet Electronic books, World War, 1939-1945